Exhibit 14

Untitled-14

‘If your photos aren’t good enough, then you’re not close enough’ so said Robert Capa. I must have gone out one Saturday for a walk in the park and because I’d taken my camera I was looking for something worth photographing. But what is worth photographing? Nature itself? Or something that is social or human? I aimed my camera at the kids on the rope swing because it seemed like something. But I never bothered to print any of the images, they were not close enough, not focused enough. Reviewing the pictures years later I find I’ve grown to like this image as a sort of anti-landscape; the kid with the Motorhead patch on their denim jacket flying into and disrupting what would have been a banal pictorial image of trees in the flat light of ordinary day.

Leave a Reply

