Exhibit 19

Untitled-6

If Coney Island had been the haunt of American photographers from Weegee to Walker Evans, Diane Arbus and Nan Goldin all I had was its namesake in Porthcawl, Coney Beach. I went there one day with the aim of taking photographs but found it hadn’t yet opened for the season. There were men everywhere repairing and checking the various rides. I walked about taking photographs, no one challenged me or asked me to leave. I was just a girl with a camera. If questioned saying I was a student seemed to reassure people, as if ‘a student’ was thus only a learner and probably wasn’t even allowed to put film in her camera.

Leave a Reply

