Exhibit 82

Untitled-24

When I looked at this image as a negative I thought the friend it showed had tipped the overhead light so that his face was flooded with light but actually he must have done the opposite so that his upper body and, crucially, his face is in darkness. He has erased himself. My friend. Gone now. Dead. Lost in the darkness he created in this photograph. This process I have undertaken; of scanning negatives of pictures I never printed is at times quite emotional for me; while these are ‘just photographs’ for me they are a journey into my history – sometimes they aren’t even good or particularly interesting images, but often they are far more laden with emotion than I will admit.

One thought on “Exhibit 82”

Leave a Reply

