Exhibit 107

men 21

This photo was part of a one day college project to approach strangers and ask if I could photograph them. I decided to narrow the field by photographing men at work in and around Soho and Covent Garden. It was meant to produce documentary photographs (or in my head that was the case) serious pictures along the lines of August Sander’s dour portraits of his countrymen and women taken in the early twentieth century. But some of my subjects that day posed and smiled and one, the fruit and veg man above, clowned and fooled around. I clicked the shutter again and again recording his various antics – and it was me who was probably dour that day.

men 9

Leave a Reply

