Exhibit 111

Untitled-15

This is the young woman who posed for some other pictures I posted here. She is in the process of being made-up for the role she was about to play. Photography was once considered the means by which verisimilitude was achieved – the camera, it was thought, doesn’t lie – that idea has been re-examined many times over especially in the digital age. In portraits there has always been a number of ways in which the sitter is fixed by a particular look – this is taken as a single truth. Documentary photography seemingly shows the viewer things as they are but I always wavered between that and images I could control. Looking back, the photos in which I took complete control of the environment and person sometimes offer me less satisfaction than those which came before me untouched by my meddling – they show me an unadulterated past – a true place I once passed through.

Untitled-20

Leave a Reply

